Wednesday, December 22, 2010

My Monarch Butterfly's Lifecycle

Do you know that butterflies have a fascinating life cycle? Butterflies have four parts to their life cycle.

Female butterflies lay eggs just like all other female insects. They lay their eggs on a swan plant so the baby can eat once they hatch.

When the egg hatches, a little baby comes out and the baby is called a caterpillar. Caterpillars wriggle and squiggle just like a worm but they come in different colours. The caterpillar eats the leaves from the swan plant and gets bigger and bigger.

When the caterpillar is fat, it spins silk around itself to make a chrysalis. It begins the pupa stage. In the chrysalis, the caterpillar evolves into a magnificent butterfly.

When the butterfly comes out of the chrysalis, it's wings are wet and it has to wait for them to dry. As soon as the wings are dry, the butterfly flies away to freedom and starts it's new life.

Butterflies do have a great life cycle. Don't you agree?

1 comment:

  1. Hello Juoan, my name is Kimberly Holland and I am a student at the University of South Alabama and I was assigned to read your blog as a part of my EDM 310 class and I must say I am very impressed. I agree with you the monarch butterfly has interesting life cycle and the video you created accurately represents that. Overall, I really enjoyed your blog it is very detailed. Keep up all the good work!


Please leave us a comment.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.